RUGBY FOOTBALL CLUB

'Indlov' Enebatha'

The second oldest club, following the Port Elizabeth-based Union Rugby Football Club (URFC), in the entire history of black rugby, Winter Rose was founded in 1890 by graduates of St Phillip Mission School and *Kaffir* Institute. This gave a reputation as a club for teachers, but the club was popularly known as *Indlov' Enebatha*. Some of its players were later to come from the URFC, which had been formed three years earlier than Winter Rose.

The founders of Winter Rose included Fana "Bush" Manana and Reverend Walter Tsotsobe, who later become legends in rugby circles. Manana took rugby further into the northern parts of the country. A resident of Johannesburg by 1924, Manana formed the Occidental Rugby Football Club (renamed Olympics Rugby Football Club in 1927) at Orlando East and was elected President of the Transvaal Bantu Rugby Union in 1936.

Already a pioneer of club rugby among blacks, Winter Rose cemented its leading role by becoming one of the founder members of the intertown tournament in 1904. Hosted in the birth-place of black-club rugby, Port Elizabeth, the tournament included teams from Grahamstown and East London. Along with Lily White and Wanderers, Winter Rose represented Grahamstown in that inaugural tournament, which was played over a period of several weeks. After first round play-offs in various localities, the winning local teams went on to play against other towns in the second round, leading to a final in Port Elizabeth for the Wynne's Cup.

Like most teams, Winter Rose was adversely affected by the outbreak of the two World Wars. Its players were drafted to serve in the wars as stretcher bearers and 'mules' (carriers of ammunition). But it emerged out of the World War II to dominate local rugby. In 1949 it scooped three cups in 1949, namely Maxhagana, St George Stead's and Fisher Cups.

RUGBY FOOTBALL CLUB



Apolitical for the most part of its existence, in 1972 Winter Rose took a decidedly political stance. It broke away from the racially exclusive SABRB to form, along with other clubs, a non-racial regional body South Eastern District Rugby Union (SEDRU) and affiliated to the national body, South African Rugby Union (SARU), which had been established in 1966. Later in 1972 Winter Rose's commitment to non-racialism was tested, when Curnick Mdyesha led a faction out of SEDRU to join a racially exclusive body, SARA. In the following year, Winter Rose won the Boyce Foley Cup.

From 1976-1978 Winter Rose played a central role in the struggles waged against Apartheid structures such as the Bantu Areas Administration Board (BAAB). They opposed racist laws that restricted Africa players, for instance, from playing in a Coloured area, an area falling under the White controlled Grahamstown City Council. In October 1982 Winter Rose again became SEDRU champions by winning the Boyce Foley Cup and followed that up with a 7 – 0 victory over Swallows Amateur Sports Club in the ensuing Champions-of-Champions final played in front of a capacity crowd at Lavender Valley.

1983 would see them repeat they Foley Cup success. In 1991, as rugby unity negotiations drew to a close, the club – like others in the townships – Winter Rose faced the problem of how to compete against highly resourced White clubs in a newly unified Eastern Province Rugby Football Union. It resolved to merge with Lily White, Wanderers and Eastern to form Buffaloes Rugby Football Club. But, the merger was unsuccessful.

WINTER ROSE RUGBY FOOTBALL CLUB



Bush Manana, the pioneer of black rugby in the Eastern Cape and a stalwart of WRRFC. Bush Manana was instumental in establishing rugby clubs in the entire South Africa.



China Manana, the son of Bush Manana who also became a stalwart of WRRFC.



Bush Manana in the centre with two friends from the Union Rugby Club, which is one of the oldest black rugby clubs in South Africa.

WINTER ROSE



Winter Rose 1st XV - 1989

(I-r) Standing: M. Khonza (coach), Z. Gosani, S. Netjies, R. Xonxa, M. Speckman, D. Mnyamana, S. Madolwana, M. Lugodlo. Kneeling: S. Cana, A. Tolwana. T. Kolose, L. Bodi, M. Madinda, Z. Maqanda. Seated: P. Mcuba, Z. Kilani, M. Diniso (Capt).



(I-r) Back Row: M. Speckman, I. Dube, S. Sandi, H. Botha, Q. Diniso, V. Bottoman.

Middle Row: C. Makasika, M. Maguma, T. Pamani, R. Xhonxha, I. Tambo. Front Row: M. Botha, T. Basson, M. Ncopho, F. Nojoko.



Winter Rose R.F.C. 1st XV

(I-r) Back Row: P. George, T. Foley, M. Madeli, Y. Mti, M. Speckman, S. Nombombo. Middle Row: G. Cangweni, P. Makubalo, Q. Diniso, P. Diniso, M. Hempe. Front Row: J. Mapapu, M. Maguma, X. Nkayi, N. Mtwalo, L. Lamani.



Winter Rose R.F.C. Tournament, East London 1986

(I-r) Back Row: S. Tulwana, Bottoman, Neil Cannon, Ncugo, P. Twaku, J. Speckman, H. Botha.

Middle Row: P. Adam (accom.), L. Dube, T. Sizani, Q. Diniso (Capt), P. Makubalo. Front Row: D. Mackezier, B. Loyi, Ncuzo, T. Basson.

WINTER ROSE RUGBY FOOTB



Winter Rose R.F.C. - 1900 (I-r) Back Row: W. Kulati, W. Yapi, S.H. Tyokom, M. Mtamo, A. Yanta. Middle Row: J.O. Ngezo (Ref.), J. Sofisa, F. Manana, C.P. Mbilini (Capt), W. Jongile, J.M. Ntleki.

Front R<mark>ow: J. Hani, T.M.</mark> Hogu, M. Ntleki, W. Ranuga, F. Kango.



Winter Rose R.F.C. - 1949

Winners of Maxhagana, St. George Steads and Fisher's Cups (I-r) Back Row: D. Fana, C. Nomgqokwana, J. Daniels (Pres.), X. Ngeju, S. Daniels, M. Faku, J.K. Botile, V. Rasana.

M. Faku, J.N. Boulle, V. Kasalla.

Middle Row: F. Ngqolombe, N. Shode, G. Matthews, A.R. Daniels (Capt), M.D.

Makupula (Sec.), N. Mjekulu (V-Capt.(),, C. May, B. Tyini, F. Ngqobongwana.

Front Row: M. Daile, M. Daniels, N. Nekile.



(I-r) Back row: H. Philisani, J. Thethani, M. Matyhumza, Z. Nduna, T. April, D. Matyhumza, M. Lurwayi, M. Mjuleni. Middle Row: J. Ntuthu, N. Sofisa, N. Qhutywa, M. Mbhathana, N. Xoxo, P. George, Dveliti

Front Row: P. Mgadi, M. Mize, B. Khewane.



Eastern Province Bantu Rugby Football Team - 1947 Winner of the N.R.C. Trophy in the S.A.B.R. Tournament held in Kimberley
(I-r) Top Row: W. Tsotsi, M. Ngcelwane, M. Mvakwendlu, Z. Katiya, M. Zinto, G. Snyman, J. Daniels.
Standing: F.W. Mtyobo (Del.), F. Bacela, M. Titi (Ass. Sec.), E.J. Mboya, M. Manana, W.Y. Mentjies,
H. Mjekula (V. Pres.),
Sitting: M. Madolo (Chaplain), C.M. Singapi (Sec.), A. R. Daniels (Capt.), A.B. Ntsinga (Manager),
A.Z. Lamani (V. Capt.), A.A. Moyake (President).
On Floor: G. Matthews, M. Yili, C.B. Manana, Dib. Tshangana.
Inset: Garnett Matthews received his Eastern Province colours for playing rugby as flyhalf and centre.
He was a star player for Winter Rose R.F.C.

WINTER ROSE RUGBY FOOTBALL CLUB



Winter Rose R.F.C. — SEDRU Champions 1983 (I-r) Back Row: B. Botoman, M. Speckman, M. Maguma, Q. Diniso, F. Kulati, M. Makubalo.

Middle Row: U. Botha, P. Diniso, S. Sandi (Capt), R. Xonxa, T. Sizani, L. Dube. Front Row: M. Ncopho, T. Basson, X. Nkayi.



Winter Rose R.F.C. 1st XV – 1984

(I-r) Back Row: T. Mafani, V. Bottoman, P. Tinaku, R. Xonka, L. Dube, N. Somkebe,
H. Botha, N. Gcakasi.

Middle Row O. Dinico J. Mocheki, S. Sondi, T. Borroni, W. Yose

Middle Row: Q. Diniso, J. Mcoboki, S. Sandi, T. Pamani, W. Yose. Front Row: P. Diniso, X. Nkayi, B. Donda.



Winter Rose R.F.C. - First XV 1983

(I-r) Back Row: T. Mafani, P. Diniso, V. Bottoman, Q. Fesi, L. Dube, M. Speckman, H. Botha.

Middle Row: P. Makubalo, M. Ncopo, N. Somkebe, N. Mtwalo, Q. Diniso. Front Row: T. Basson, S. Tulwanana, T. Pamani, J. Mcoboki.



Winter Rose R.F.C. - 198?

(I-r) Back Row: Q. Diniso, P. Makubalo, N. Cannon, S. Sandi, T. Saul, M. Sandi. Middle Row: T. Maguma, M. Speckman, M. Kewuti, N. Dikana. Front Row: P. Somyali, M. Diniso, S. Tulwana, M. Diniso, R. Xonxa (capt), T. Pamani. In Absentia: B. Sandi, J. Mcoboki, T. Mafani, C. Botha, M. Botha.